Hempstead County, Arkansas

District Court

 Sherri Rateliff District Clerk, Kelly Dougan, 
District Judge Tony Yocom, Lisa Marlar & Jennifer Bittle.

400 South Washington
P.O. Box 1420
Hope, AR 71802

870-777-7830 fax


District courts, formerly known as municipal courts before passage of Amendment 80 to the Arkansas Constitution, exercise county-wide jurisdiction over misdemeanor cases, preliminary felony cases, and civil cases in matters of less than $5,000. A small claims division of district court provides a forum in which citizens represent themselves to resolve minor civil matters. The city courts operate in smaller communities where district courts do not exist and exercise city-wide jurisdiction.